Thursday, March 13, 2014

Saffold-GATE



I haven't heard anyone dub this series of events with this name yet, so consider this an original name.

Some backstory:

1. Mark Davis to me seems like someone who wants to make his dad proud, and really loves and cares for the Raiders. He unfortunately also seems inexperienced to the point that it hurts the team
2. Ditto for Reggie McKenzie
3. I, like many folks, have never believed that a triangle of noob Owner, GM, and HC would lead to a super bowl - quickly or ever...
4. Reggie McKenzie, other than clearing cap room for this year, what have you done for us?

I think that our free agency period (and subsequent rebuilding steps) should have been planned as such:

-Understand that many of the best FA's want to go to a winner
-Get in contact with their agents anyways, and be willing to spend the little bit extra to get them -- even if you are 2nd or 3rd choice. Then focus on next tier FA's and do the same.
-Have all contracts for said above FA's lined up
-When the clock strikes 12, instantly have 3-5 studs sign on the dotted line
-Send out your press release

Instead, here's what seems to have happened from a fan's perspective:

-Jared Veldheer got away (when he very genuinely seemed to want to stay)
-Time was used improperly to focus on a single FA - not the best FA left tackle out there, let alone the best FA overall
-Oakland should have used their spending money to target the best 2-3 overall FA players, regardless of position - almost any current Oakland position is upgradeable.
-Reggie M. either was willing to take a risk on this player with injury history, or through inexperience, or possible bad negotiating with Veldheer, found this to be his best option
-Mark Davis heard press and fan outcries, and over-ruled this move, resulting in the "failed physical"
-Those other better FA's? --the top CB's, LT's, DT's, FS's-- Now signed to other teams, a few in our own division.
-As a result, R.M now looks like a bozo, and even if he was right, M.D. now looks like a micro-managing owner.
-The Raiders have additional holes after the start of Free Agency.



Even if the move to revoke the Saffold contract ends up being fruitful when he gets injured this season, overall does anyone see something positive to take away from this whole ordeal???

Me neither :(

No comments:

Post a Comment